Hinku regions

The Hinku regions and the Hinku communities in each region jointly commit to reducing the regions’ greenhouse gas emissions by 80 per cent from the 2007 levels by 2030. Emissions are calculated according to the Hinku calculation rules (including emission compensations). Read more about the usage-based greenhouse gas emissions calculation principles

At present, the Hinku network includes five Finnish regions:

  • South Karelia
  • Kymenlaakso
  • Pirkanmaa
  • North Karelia
  • Päijät-Häme

Regions can apply for the status of Hinku region from the Finnish Environment Institute. To be granted this status, the region’s Hinku municipalities must account for at least 80 per cent of the region’s population and the region must, jointly with its Hinku municipalities, commit to the region’s overall emissions reduction target.

Regions have been able to apply for Hinku status since November 2019. To obtain Hinku status, the region must meet the Hinku criteria specified by the Finnish Environment Institute.

Published 2020-04-14 at 11:23, updated 2023-10-03 at 13:31
  • Print page