Regional cooperation groups

The activities of the Canemure (Towards Carbon Neutral Municipalities and Regions) project are focused in seven regions in Finland: North Ostrobothnia, Pirkanmaa, Päijät-Häme, Satakunta, South Karelia, Southwest Finland and Uusimaa. The aim of the regional cooperation groups is to catalyse regional administration, businesses, and residents to uptake climate change mitigation actions and to leverage private and public funding for additional regional concrete actions.

The regional coordinator, together with the regional cooperation group and other stakeholders, will undertake strategic climate change mitigation actions (incl. synergies to climate change adaptation), produce and update regional roadmaps for climate change mitigation, disseminate information on good practices and decision making tools, arrange local events, gather regional data for EU reporting, and communicate with different stakeholders in order to promote new strategies and political measures among different target groups in the region. In addition, the coordinator will support the practical work of small municipalities in the region.


Regional Coordinators:

North Ostrobothnia

Oulu University of Applied Sciences (OAMK)


Council of Tampere Region


Regional Council of Päijät-Häme


Satakunta University of Applied Sciences

South Karelia

City of Lappeenranta

Southwest Finland

Centre for Economic Development, Transport and the Environment for Southwest Finland


Helsinki-Uusimaa Regional Council


Contact details for the regional coordinators

Published 2019-05-15 at 10:58, updated 2019-05-15 at 11:34